2019/20 NWWRFL Constitution Confirmed – West Didsbury & Chorlton AFC

2019/20 NWWRFL Constitution Confirmed

West Didsbury & Chorlton will welcome the likes of Morecambe, Wigan Athletic and Tranmere Rovers to Brookburn Road this season as their place in the NWWRFL Premier Division was confirmed at Friday’s AGM.

The ‘invincible’ Champions take their place at Step 5 of the women’s national league system for the first time in just their third season since their formation in 2017. They will be joined in the Premier Division by Bury who were crowned Division One North Champions alongside Morecambe and Crewe Alexandra who were relegated from the Women’s National League.

West will be reunited with the 2018 Division One South Champions FC United, the North Manchester side were promoted last season ahead of runners-up West along with local neighbours Manchester Stingers whom they faced in last season’s Women’s FA Cup.  West met Stingers in the first ever ‘South Manchester Derby’ last September when West ran out 5-2 winners at Kings Road.

In addition there will be trips to Merseyside for first ever meetings with Merseyrail, Mossley Hill Athletic and Tranmere Rovers. In addition there will be two trips to the coast to look forward when West face Morecambe and Fleetwood Town Wrens.  There will be trips to Lancashire to face Sir Tom Finney and Wigan Athletic whilst Crewe Alexandra round off the travelling for West.

West’s league campaign begins on Sunday 1st September with a planned mid-week fixture scheduled the following mid-week.  West will also await the Women’s FA Cup draw with the preliminary round expected to take place on Sunday 18th August.