Macron Cup & First Division Cup first and second round draws made

Macron Cup & First Division Cup first and second round draws made

Macron Cup & First Division Cup first and second round draws made

1 Oct 2019

Macron Cup & First Division Cup first and second round draws made

With the announcement of league fixtures for the season still a few weeks away, West today found out their first news of competitive fixtures for the 2019/20 season following the completion of the Macron Cup and First Division Challenge Cup draws. The former encompasses the entirety of the NWCFL, including Premier, Division One North, and Division One South, whereas - as the name suggests - only Division One (both North and South) compete in the latter.

Ties have been scheduled for both the first and second rounds of each, with the Macron Cup seeing West host New Mills on the week commencing 19th October, with the winner of that tie being the home side against Alsager (who have received a bye in the first) on the week commencing 9th November. In the First Division Challenge Cup, West have received a bye in the first round, and have again got a home tie as we welcome Nelson to Brookburn Road for the second round, which is to take place on the week commencing 5th October.

The draw was originally due to take place at the league's AGM in mid-June, but was delayed due to Carlisle City's appeal against their lateral movement out of the NWCFL. This was rejected by the FA, and therefore the draw was completed this morning by the NWCFL. This represents the first time that West have competed in the First Division Challenge Cup since 2012/13, when Lee Malkin netted in the 70th minute of the final against Abbey Hey to seal the club's last silverware, complementing the side's promotion that season,


First Round

1. Skelmersdale United v Irlam

2. Abbey Hey v Holker Old Boys

3. Avro v Vauxhall Motors

4. Garstang v Stockport Town

5. Bootle v Eccleshall

6. Maine Road v FC Oswestry Town

7. Daisy Hill v AFC Blackpool

8. Shelley v Wythenshawe Town

9. Rylands v Barnton

10. Hanley Town v Abbey Hulton United

11. Wythenshawe Amateurs v Chadderton

12. Cheadle Heath Nomads v 1874 Northwich

13. Burscough v Ashton Athletic

14. Bacup Borough v Charnock Richard

15. Congleton Town v AFC Darwen

16. Sandbach United v AFC Liverpool

17. Ashton Town v Golcar United

18. Padiham v St Martins

19. Ellesmere Rangers v Cleator Moor Celtic

20. Runcorn Town v Atherton L.R.

21. Pilkington v Steeton

22. Emley v Squires Gate

23. West Didsbury & Chorlton v New Mills

24. Prestwich Heys v Winsford United

25. St Helens Town v Nelson

26. Northwich Victoria v Barnoldswick Town

27. Lower Breck v Cammell Laird 1907

28. Stone Old Alleynians v Litherland Remyca

The following clubs have received a bye into the Second Round: Whitchurch Alport, Longridge Town, Cheadle Town, Alsager Town.

Second Round

1. Garstang or Stockport Town v Pilkington or Steeton

2. Lower Breck or Cammell Laird 1907 v Maine Road or FC Oswestry Town

3. St. Helens Town or Nelson v Daisy Hill or AFC Blackpool

4. Longridge Town v Avro or Vauxhall Motors

5. Northwich Victoria or Barnoldswick Town v Runcorn Town or Atherton L.R.

6. Abbey Hey or Holker Old Boys v Bacup Borough or Charnock Richard

7. Burscough or Ashton Athletic v Ashton Town or Golcar United

8. West Didsbury & Chorlton or New Mills v Alsager Town

9. Whitchurch Alport v Shelley or Wythenshawe Town

10. Stone Old Alleynians or Litherland Remyca v Bootle or Eccleshall

11. Prestwich Heys or Winsford United v Congleton Town or AFC Darwen

12. Hanley Town or Abbey Hulton United v Sandbach United or AFC Liverpool

13. Rylands or Barnton v Padiham or St Martins

14. Wythenshawe Amateurs or Chadderton v Cheadle Town

15. Skelmersdale United or Irlam v Cheadle Heath Nomads or 1874 Northwich

16. Emley or Squires Gate v Ellesmere Rangers or Cleator Moor Celtic

Dates of Rounds

19 Oct 2019 - 1st Round

09 Nov 2019 - 2nd Round

07 Dec 2019 - 3rd Round

15 Feb 2020 - Quarter Final

30 Mar 2020 - Semi Final 1st Leg

06 Apr 2020 - Semi Final 2nd Leg

Final - TBA


First Round Draw

1. Cleator Moor Celtic v Cheadle Town

2. Holker Old Boys v AFC Blackpool

3. Steeton v FC Oswestry Town

4. Lower Breck v Vauxhall Motors

5. Abbey Hey v Bacup Borough

6. AFC Liverpool v Shelley

7. Abbey Hulton United v Ellesmere Rangers

8. New Mills v Eccleshall

The following clubs received Byes into the Second Round: AFC Darwen, Ashton Town, Atherton L.R., Chadderton, Daisy Hill, Emley, Garstang, Golcar United, Nelson Bye, Pilkington, Prestwich Heys, St Helens Town, Alsager Town, Barnton, Cammell Laird 1907, Cheadle Heath Nomads, Maine Road, Sandbach United, St Martins, Stockport Town, Stone Old Alleynians, West Didsbury & Chorlton, Wythenshawe Amateurs, Wythenshawe Town

Also made this morning was the draw for the second round, again overseen by The League Chairman.

Second Round Draw

1 St Helens Town v AFC Darwen

2 Abbey Hulton United or Ellesmere Rangers v Cheadle Heath Nomads

3 Alsager Town v Cleator Moor Celtic or Cheadle Town

4 St Martins v AFC Liverpool or Shelley

5 Chadderton v Pilkington

6 Cammell Laird 1907 v Sandbach United

7 Emley v Holker Old Boys or AFC Blackpool

8 Lower Breck or Vauxhall Motors v New Mills or Eccleshall

9 Daisy Hill v Maine Road

10 West Didsbury & Chorlton v Nelson

11 Golcar United v Wythenshawe Town

12 Barnton v Abbey Hey or Bacup Borough

13 Ashton Town v Atherton L.R.

14 Garstang v Steeton or FC Oswestry Town

15 Stone Old Alleynians v Prestwich Heys

16 Wythenshawe Amateurs v Stockport Town

Dates of Rounds

07 Sept 2019 - 1st Round

05 Oct 2019 - 2nd Round

23 Nov 2019 - 3rd Round

08 Feb 2020 - Quarter Final

16 Mar 2020 - Semi Final

23 Mar 2020 - Semi Final 2nd Leg

Final - TBA